FMP journal 30

FMP reflective journal

Monday 8/5/17

Today I did some printing with the screen I made last week. I started by creating a simple black print repeating the design.


This one was on white card. Parts of it was a bit more messy than I had hoped but this is a really simple and easy way to get a detailed design as a print.


I also did the design in black on fabric which I really liked the effect of.


After leaving this to dry for a while I came back to add some coloured layers to my work. I created a pink ink and printed on top of the fabric piece I had done to give a layered effect. I was happy with how this turned out I really liked the effect of layering different colours, to add dimension and detail. 


I then did another layered piece on fabric this time being a bit more messy. I did a few laters using the remaining ink on the screen to give the faded effect. I also mixed together a couple of different shades of ink which I think worked well. As I have experimented with throughout my project I really like the effect of layering text.


I think through more practise the technique of screen printing got easier with better results. Therefore I will continue to experiment with this using different techniques as this is something I want to refine before I use it in my final piece. 

Leave a Reply

