FMP journal 29

FMP reflective journal

Thursday 4/5/17

The final piece of research I have done is looking at artist Biagio Cepollaro who uses collage and layering.


I wanted to work in the style of this artist so I decided to create a collage of the mono prints I created.


Firstly I started cutting up parts of the mono prints that I thought would be interesting in a collage. I then tried to arrange them in a way that was visually pleasing.


This was the final design I came up with. I like the combination of bright colours along with the black pieces too. I think this style is nice because there is a lot going on and I like the textural layered effect. By cutting up the pieces in this way this also adds the the abstract effect because the words cannot be read but become marks and patterns.


I then glued all the pieces down and added a few smaller more delicate details to give it a more refined effect.

I was happy with this piece however I think it would be more succesful if it was a bit more toned down and refined. I like the effect of bright colours however I think it would be best to stick to one or two tones to stop the design becoming too over the top.

This lead me to experiment in a different way.


This time I cut up smaller shapes of the prints to collage on only parts of the page instead of covering up the whole page. I also decided to stick to the prints which had pink/purple tones to stop the piece becoming too much. I quite liked the geometric effect of using rectangular shaped this time. 

Once these were stuck down I then worked over this base writing in the layering style I have been practising. I used a few different medias for this to give more depth and detail.

I liked this effect however I thought writing on top of the prints kind of made them less effective as the detail was lost. Therefore for the next experimentation I decided to do the writing first on the page then stick the collaged prints on top.

This time I used less bold colours and thicknesses of pens for the writing because I didn’t want the writing to become too much it was just there for a background and addition of detail. I liked this effect and I think that the collage worked better on top of the writing. 

I would like to continue with collage techniques.

Leave a Reply

