FMP journal 25

FMP reflective journal

Wednesday 26/04/17

Today I started by going back through my sketchbook and adding bits of annotation and presentation which I have missed out to make sure my sketchbook and research is complete as Sarah advised me to.

I have also done another artist research page on Miriam Londoño. She is an artist who uses writing in her art but in more of a 3D way, this is why I wanted to research her because I haven’t done anything 3D related so far. She used her work to communicate ideas such as migration, communication and social exclusion. She uses paper pulp as her medium and spreads it in a way that reflects writing then lets it harden created a strong sculptural surface. Due to the peculiarities of this writing technique the text becomes tangled and cannot be read fully.


One influence for her work is letters. She says the words become tangled making the writing illegible meaning she can work with intimate personal memories which I find an interesting concept. 


She also works from people’s names for example in this piece Trapped it is formed to the names of hundreds of people that were kidnapped in Columbia in 2008. I really like how the shadows from her pieces are created on the walls which really add to the effect of her 3D work. 


She also works from testimonies, in this one she includes the stories of 30 women displaced by violence in Columbia, each sheet of paper is a personal story. I really like how this one is hanging in a way that people can walk through it. This adds a really nice interactive element with the audience and art.


Another thing which inspires her is stories this one in particular is about immigrants from Columbia in Holland. 

I really like how she transforms pieces of writing into 3D pieces of art which can have interactive elements. He style is really interesting to me and I love the shadows that are created. This has inspired me to experiment with 3D elements within the experimentation of my own project.

Leave a Reply

