FMP journal 23

FMP reflective journal

Monday 24/04/17

Today I began by creating another piece in the style of Simon Hantai in my sketchbook.


I used a wide range of different pens and pencils for this one layering the writing up each time. I did this to experiment even further with looking into colour. I liked the effect of this one as I like the contrast of smaller more delicate writing on top of the thick marker pens. However I think the colour in this one might beat it too much, I think to improve I should just try to stick to one or two tones of the same colour rather than using a lot of different ones all together, I think this would be more effective. 

I then went on the computers to do some research as I was feeling a little bit lost for ideas. I went on to my Pinterest board full of ideas I have saved for this project to see if I could get some inspiration. I found a piece that I thought could link in well after my visual diary I created with my Scotland pictures. It was images from Kurt Jacksons sketchbook. He paints landscapes and in some of the paintings he includes annotations within the painting itself, making the writing become part of the art. I found this interesting as it incorporates the thoughts he was having at the time within the painting. He also calls his sketchbook his visual diary so I thought this would link nicely to my visual diary I created.



I then decided to work in a similar style to his with my photos from Scotland.




I created these by sticking down some of my favourite pictures from the trip in my sketchbook then working on top of and around these in a similar style to how Kurt Jackson works. I used acrylic paint with a palette knife and also some watercolour paint. I then worked on top of this by writing part of the diary I wrote that related to the picture on top to illustrate my feelings and thoughts that were happening whilst I was there. I found this useful because it challenged me to try out a technique that I have not used so far in this project and it is quite different to the rest of my work. I think overall they are successful as pieces however I do think I prefer the writing in my work when they are layered and a lot more scribbley because this gives the work much more abstract effect. I like the addition of visual elements such a photographs and think it can be effective however I think I prefer the simplicity of writing as art on its own without the addition of imagery. The focus of my project has been on writing as a significant form of art therefore I don’t want to steer away from that too much by introducing imagery. Therefore I think it would be better to just look at writing in my project rather than combining it with photos as this might take away some of the effect of the writing. However this was useful for me to explore and I do really like the technique of expressive painting and the colours used in this way.

I also found another artist on Pinterest that I want to include in my project, Miriam Londono. 





She creates lots of piece which include writing through using paper pulp to create a strong structure. She takes inspiration from stories, letters and names. I really like how she takes writing into a 3D element and this is something I think I could experiment with in my project.

Leave a Reply

