FMP journal 22

FMP reflective journal

Wednesday 19/04/17

Whilst I was away in Scotland I kept a bit of a diary to record my thoughts, feelings and emotions on certain days. I also took a lot of photos when I was there and so this inspired me to create a sort of visual diary in my sketchbook. I did this because with looking at the theme of communication at the moment in my project I thought a diary would be a good way to look into this theme more. A diary is a way of writing down anything from what you have done in the day, how it made you feel, what this has changed about you and just any general thoughts, it’s a great way to record on paper what is going through your mind. I didn’t want the diary to just be recording what I did in the day while I was away instead I wanted it to be more about how I felt and emotions because I thought this would give the writing more of a poetic feel which is what I have been focusing on in my project so far. Today I constructed the ‘visual diary’ in my sketchbook by putting in certain photos that I took in my book and linking them to the piece of writing I created whilst I was there. I think this is a great way to physically store memories through a visual diary because even if you forget what has happened or how you were feeling at the time it will always be recorded physically in writing and imagery. I really like the link between written words and imagery in this way because I think it makes the work much more interesting as well as being easier to connect.





Moving forward I would like to work from these photos more in some way and possibly incorporate the writing from the diary in the art somehow. 

I think by including these photos and pieces of writing in my project really helps to give a personal element to my project as I have included my own feelings and emotions connected to a place through my own writing. This kind of work is very different to what I have been studying so far in my project however I think it is good to take into account and experiment with different areas including photography which I haven’t done much of so far, therefore I am happy with how this contributes to the progression of my project.

Leave a Reply

