FMP journal 8

FMP reflective journal

Monday 27/03/17

Today I presented my artist research on Donna Rumble Smith; another artist who uses handwriting with stitch. She takes inspiration from conversations and ramblings and she uses processes and materials that incorporate delicate and translucent qualities such as machine made lace. She mounts the lace onto acrylic sheet to enable light to pass through creating shadows on the wall.



I like her use of soluble fabric as it creates the interesting shadows with the words and I like how it provides the ability to hang the pieces, giving a more abstract and 3D element to her work. This hanging element also helps to take away the ability of reading the words in a way which I like as it also helps to make the work a bit more abstract. 

I am going to work in a similar style through using soluble fabric with writing with stitch but I haven’t done this yet.

 

Leave a Reply

