Grids

My Work

This is the second project I have completed which I need to catch up with on here. Like my previous post this will be fairly brief with mainly photos of my work for the project and short comments to accompany. For this project we were given a range of titles to choose from and I went for the title ‘grids’. I thought this would be a good project for me to work on my passion for surface pattern design.

IMG_0087.JPG

Initial title page

For my primary research I looked at a lot of architectural/man-made elements containing grids. I worked from these looking at the pattern in the photos.

IMG_0090.JPG

I started to look at more natural forms of grids, and I was interested in how the silhouette of a tree creates a pattern in the sky. When all the branches overlap the shapes in between can be seen as grids. I worked from these photos in acrylic.

IMG_0091.JPG

IMG_0092.JPG

For my secondary research I looked at 3 elements of grids; architectural, natural and mark making.

IMG_0093

IMG_0094.JPG

IMG_0095.JPG

I decided to focus my project on the natural side of grids because I like how its a less obvious way of looking at grids. To start this off I took some photos using a macro lens of some of the patterns within leaves, as the veins create an interesting linear pattern when we look closer.

IMG_0096.JPG

To look at things in more of an abstract way I experimented with mark making techniques.

IMG_0123.JPG

More experimentation with expressive abstract mark making

IMG_0121.JPG

More development

IMG_0097.JPG

Artist research for abstract pattern element

Experimentation with bleach and pattern, as well as introducing colour.

IMG_0100.JPG

Looking more into drawing the patterns within leaves

IMG_0101

Primary drawings looking at tone, line and colour

IMG_0102.JPG

Looking at the detail in leaves and experimenting with stitch, bleach and soluble fabric

IMG_0103.JPG

Introducing colour as a way to create abstract pattern

IMG_0104.JPG

Creating abstract patterns using ink and oil pastel

IMG_0105.JPG

Introducing trees as a form of grids in nature as well as leaves and working in oil pastel

IMG_0106.JPG

Enter a caption

IMG_0106.JPG

My own photos and working from them in ink and oil pastel

IMG_0122.JPG

Working from my photos of trees in a similar expressive style as I did previously using acrylic, ink and oil pastel

I then experimented with lino printing, working from the photos I had taken to create the pattern. I layered the pattern using different colours and I was really happy with how these turned out.

IMG_0125.JPG

Initial experimentation

IMG_0126.JPG

Experimentation with lino prints on grid paper

IMG_0127.JPG

Experimentation with lino prints on fabric

IMG_0124.JPG

Final development for lino prints

IMG_0109.JPG

Artist research for print

IMG_0110.JPG

Working in the style of the artist

IMG_0111.JPG

More abstract artist research

This artists work inspired me to work more using soluble fabric because I really like the effect it creates.

IMG_0112.JPG

Contextual element looking into climate change

I decided to look into climate change to add a contextual element to my project because of how it can really have a negative effect on the growth of nature.

IMG_0113.JPG

Drawings of decaying nature

IMG_0114.JPG

Artist research on using recycled materials

For my final outcome I wanted to combine some of the techniques I had previously worked with. I wanted to work with the lino prints, bleach, recycled materials and soluble fabric with stitch.

image1

My final piece combining all the techniques

Details of my final piece. I was really happy with how this turned out because I think that all the elements work really well together and combined create an interesting piece symbolising the effects of climate change on nature and what we can do to target this.

IMG_0117.JPG

To add a further element to my project I added the title ‘Barriers and Boundaries’

image2.JPG

Continuing my theme of decay through boundaries by looking at rust

IMG_0119.JPG

I was interested in looking at how nature grows within boundaries climbing and growing up them. I thought this could be used to symbolise how nature fights back against man-made objects because of the climate change they have helped to cause. Nature still grows and lives even when boundaries are decaying and destroyed.

IMG_0120.JPG

Artist research for things growing within boundaries

DSC042911

DSC042941

DSC042921

DSC042951

DSC043021

DSC043031

For my final piece for this part of the project I decided to put my collage piece back into the boundaries where nature has began taking over. I took various photographs from different angles of this and I was really happy with the outcome.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

