A Summer Project

My Work

For my first blog post I thought I’d give a little insight into the initial project I did for my foundation degree.

Over the summer we were set a small project to be completed before we began the course in September. The aim of this was to keep us thinking creatively over the summer and to give us a little introduction into the types of things we would be doing over the year. The brief said that we should take 30 or so photographs of things we found visually interesting. Whether these photographs were taken at big summer events such as festivals and holidays or just a day at the park didn’t matter, as long as they were striking images. We were also told that the photos should try to be fairly close up, so that instead of incorporating on a whole landscape, we were focusing on a small part and the textures and patterns that make this up.

This project excited me because I was itching to get back into the creative swing of things, and also to try out some photography. I’ve never studied photography but it’s always been something I’ve enjoyed and I was kindly sent a brand new DSLR camera from a family member a couple of years ago which I never really got a chance to experiment with; so this was another exciting element.

Here are some of the photo’s I took:

dsc03654-2

dsc03514-2

dsc03547-2

dsc03557-2

dsc03571-2

dsc03623-2

dsc03640-2

dsc03650-2

dsc03652-2

dsc03669-2

dsc03681-2

dsc03711-2

dsc03723-2

dsc03726-2

dsc03746-2

dsc03750-2

dsc03779-2

dsc03806-2

dsc03878-2

dsc03884-2

We were also instructed to create a sketchbook working from the photo’s we took. I decided to do a few small sketches and some more textural, abstract pieces from my pictures;

I was happy with the work I created for this project, I found it a very useful activity to do to help me prepare for a year of experimenting with art.

 

Leave a Reply

